Thomas Sampson

Odbc Memory allocation error

2 Comments

Today I tried upgrading the odbc drivers on my server from 3.5 to 5.1. I immediately ran in to troubles and got a “Memory allocation error” when executing a non query to mySql. After reverting back to driver version 3.5 i found that the error was caused simply by a “data too long for field” error which i quickly fixed in no time at all.

I am not sure if the memory allocation error i received with the new drivers was related to this but if anyone could explain this I would love to know whats going off. If anyone gets a memory allocation error in 5.1 it might be worth checking to ensure the data your inserting fits into the row.

Author: tomtech999

I have recently graduated with a 1st class degree in MComp Games Software Development at Sheffield Hallam University, focusing primarily on application development in C++, with experience in graphics programming, scripting languages, DVCS/VCS and web technology. In my spare time I enjoy Drumming, Reading and Snowboarding!

2 thoughts on “Odbc Memory allocation error

  1. Finally.. your post made me close my.ini configuration file and i carefully checked my import script and found the cause..

    thanks

  2. Hello webmaster
    I would like to share with you a link to your site
    write me here preonrelt@mail.ru