Thomas Sampson

Nokia N96 OS Restore

Leave a comment

Today I found myself in one of those annoying yet typical situations! I was off out into the city centre, with arrangements to meet someone who I would call on arrival. I reached for my fully charged phone (Nokia N96) and all the butons, menus and icons had disappeared. None of the keys responded at all (other than the camera key which was little use to me in this situation). On my return home, taking out the battery and plugging it in to the power supply didn’t help at all. All the reset methods (soft/hard) require you to have access to the phone keypad and menu’s (a luxury I didn’t have). However I managed to find an alternative key sequence method to completely reset and re-install the symbian OS.

WARNING: THE FOLLOWING WILL ERASE ALL USER DATA AND CONTACTS IN YOUR PHONE MEMORY

  • Hold down the following keys….  [*] + GREEN CALL BUTTON + [3]
  • Turn on the phone (Whilst still holding the three keys)
  • Keep holding the three keys untill you are presented with the language selection screen!

Voila!!

Author: tomtech999

I have recently graduated with a 1st class degree in MComp Games Software Development at Sheffield Hallam University, focusing primarily on application development in C++, with experience in graphics programming, scripting languages, DVCS/VCS and web technology. In my spare time I enjoy Drumming, Reading and Snowboarding!

Leave a Reply

