Thomas Sampson

Killzone 2!

1 Comment

After playing but mostly watching my friend play Killzone 2 from start to finish (almost!) on the ps3 I have been blown away by the game! I have been getting really interested in rendering techniques of late and the visuals and cinematic effects used in killzone 2 are like nothing I have ever seen before in video game. Here are a couple of great “making of” videos for the game which cover the following areas of interest..

  • The deferred rendering engine
  • A demonstration of the rendering pipeline at each stage
  • Cinematic effects (pixel speeds/motion blur/noise/bloom etc)
  • A look at a ps3 devkit
  • A tour around a debug build of the game
  • The use of the PS3’s SPU’s
  • The sound technology and layers used within the game
Author: tomtech999

I have recently graduated with a 1st class degree in MComp Games Software Development at Sheffield Hallam University, focusing primarily on application development in C++, with experience in graphics programming, scripting languages, DVCS/VCS and web technology. In my spare time I enjoy Drumming, Reading and Snowboarding!

One thought on “Killzone 2!

  1. Hello. I think the article is really interesting. I am even interested in reading more. How soon will you update your blog?

Leave a Reply

