Thomas Sampson

Online File Coversion

2 Comments

I know how anoying it is when you get a file you cant open, and that happened to me today when I received a “docX” file from work. I stumbled upon Zamzar which is a great web service which will convert files from many file types to a long list of other file types, and all for free. The service worked great when converting my “docX” file to a simple “doc” file and boasts a long list of file types for documents, images, videos and even archives!

So Whats the catch?

  • Ads (and plenty of them)
  • Document is emailed to you shortly after conversion
  • Converted file must be retrieved within 24 hours after conversion

Other than the points above, brilliant free service. Something like this should definately be integrated into Google Documents which currently lacks support for most of the files zamzar works with!

Author: tomtech999

I have recently graduated with a 1st class degree in MComp Games Software Development at Sheffield Hallam University, focusing primarily on application development in C++, with experience in graphics programming, scripting languages, DVCS/VCS and web technology. In my spare time I enjoy Drumming, Reading and Snowboarding!

2 thoughts on “Online File Coversion

  1. Hi, did you try http://youconvertit.com

    THey do the same and more i think, but they have advantage in the following areas:
    1- Ads, they are supporting a site called http://wujwuj.com i think they own it but other than that the ads are so minor.
    2- Documents is emailed to you in less than 15 minutes.
    3- The converted file link can be retrived within a week time
    4- Upload up to 300MB unlike Zamzar you have to pay over 100
    5- Also can send large files.
    6- Can convert units (all kind of units)

    I guess they are the best in the internet so far.

    That is what i believe………..

    Give me your feedback

  2. I will give this a go and write an update! Cheers James!