Thomas Sampson

Draw Anywhere!

4 Comments

Draw Anywhere!

Draw Anywhere is a cool tool I found today which allows you to create block / flowchart diagrams online with no software installation. The application runs in browser using Adobe Flash to do all the hard work!

My first impressions (from the poor site design and sketchy nature) were dissapointing, although once I had signed up, and declined upgrading to a pro account (i can crop their logo off my drawings myself thankyou very much!) I was quite impressed.

The interface works well although you do get the feeling that the application is still in development and little snags appear here and there with the rendering of your work. I worked through and used the system to draw a simple flowchart for an online flash game I am currently working on, here is the result.

Online Play Diagram

The subject of the flowchart isn’t too complex but as you can see the image is made quite nicely and was exported as a jpeg in moments (offered as an instant http download). Overall if your not at your PC and are missing programs such as Publisher or Mind Mapper, this online tool can be in-valuable. I can see it coming in handy at University when the admins have neglected to install anything remotely useful on my machine!

Author: tomtech999

I have recently graduated with a 1st class degree in MComp Games Software Development at Sheffield Hallam University, focusing primarily on application development in C++, with experience in graphics programming, scripting languages, DVCS/VCS and web technology. In my spare time I enjoy Drumming, Reading and Snowboarding!

4 thoughts on “Draw Anywhere!

  1. “declined upgrading to a pro account (i can crop their logo off my drawings myself thankyou very much!)”

    That bit made me chuckle lol

    Cool find! I’ll remember to look back here next time I need to use something like this. Bloody systems admins not letting us access simple programs.

    Good job on updating the blog. I’ll keep checking!

    Ben

    P.S. Se you Wednesday!!

  2. Nice app, what about Sketchplanet – you can draw on this site also.

  3. Hi

    I am looking for a great little draw/photo edit pack for free that allows overlays.

    Any ideas?

  4. do you mean a standalone app?

    I would recommend GIMP on linux or possibly paint.net on windows. GIMP has been around longer but you may be more familiar with the interface of paint.net (which as suggested requires the .net runtime)

    Hope this helps!